(07) 3726 5039

New leadership for livestock transporters

01 August 2020LRTAQ news

[spb_text_block pb_margin_bottom=”no” pb_border_bottom=”no” width=”1/1″ el_position=”first last”]

  • Facebook

New LRTAQ President Gerard Johnson

Tambo transport operator Gerard Johnson has been elected as President of the Livestock and Rural Transporters Association of Queensland at the organisation’s AGM last week in Rockhampton.

Mr Johnson is no stranger to the organisation as the son of inaugural Vice President Brendan Johnson, who along with other notable industry members formed the association in 1981.

Mr Johnson said he would be a strong voice for Queensland livestock and rural transporters in the current COVID-19 climate.

“More than ever the critical role that livestock transporters play in the food supply chain is being realised by the community and government,” Mr Johnson said.

“I plan on being a strong voice of reason at the table for sensible and consistent regulation of our industry”.

“Driver and animal welfare, safety, better infrastructure and the reduction of unnecessary red-tape is at the forefront of our advocacy efforts, and we’d encourage transporters who are interested in advancing our industry to join us and make their voice heard.”

Mr Johnson also announced the appointment of Laney O’Neil as the new Secretariat manager based in Roma. Laney comes to the LRTAQ from a senior communications role at Meat & Livestock Australia and has a background in campaign management and advocacy in both Canberra and Brisbane.

“We’re excited to have Laney join the association, her skills and experience will be put to good use in serving our membership and advancing our interests”.

Mr Johnson paid tribute to retiring President Ian Wild, who has steered the LRTAQ over the last four years.

“Ian has been a strong advocate for the viability, sustainability and efficiency of the livestock and rural transport industry and is widely respected for his efforts.” Mr Johnson said.

Gerard Johnson is joined by Mark Collins (Frasers Livestock Transport), John Rogers (Road Trains of Australia), Gary Willoughby (Willoughby Livestock Transport) and Ron Pattel (Pattel’s Collinsville Transport) on the new LRTAQ Executive.


More news

2023 Young Person In Transport Award

2023 Young Person In Transport Award

The LRTAQ Young Person in Transport Award has been developed to recognise and acknowledge the contribution younger transport workers are making to...

The Rural Transport Rising Star Award

The Rural Transport Rising Star Award

In 2023, ALRTA National Partner bp and Media Partner PowerTorque, in association with the Australian Livestock and Rural Transporters Association,...

2023 LRTAQ Annual Conference

2023 LRTAQ Annual Conference

The Livestock and Rural Transporters Association of Queensland 2023 Annual Conference will be held at The Ville in Townsville from Thursday 28...